Home > apple, iPhone, iPod, iPod Touch > iPod Touch: a Short Review

iPod Touch: a Short Review

iPod TouchI played around with an iPod Touch this past weekend, and I was impressed overall, but have some observations that took it out of the running for me as a purchase option.

First of all, this iPod is THIN, which is great. It’s about a third of an inch in depth, and that makes it feel very light and comfortable in your hand. The “multi-touch” interface, also a part of the iPhone, is quite nice. I found it to be easy to adjust to the typing. It wouldn’t take long to become quick.

A missing piece that I didn’t notice while I had it in hand was that you cannot make entries in the Calendar application. I am baffled by this since it has the onscreen keyboard available for other purposes. There is also no way to enter or view notes. It would be great to at least match the Classic iPod’s capability to upload notes from my Mac, but that’s not possible at this point. I had thoughts of using this as an iPod/quasi-PDA, but if I can’t enter short notes or a quick calendar entry then it can’t serve that purpose.

I was glad to be able to surf the internet in Safari, using a WiFi connection, though there is no Mail application. YouTube videos are also available through the included YouTube app, but this didn’t change the fact that the lack of a Mail app leaves it feeling a bit incomplete.

At this point I am calling the iPod Touch an iPhone “teaser,” designed to cause us to crave the full capabilities that are a part of the iPhone.

My 2G iPod just died so instead of the Touch, I’ve decided to go with the 80 GB Classic (though i must confess that I have had lustful thoughts toward the Nano, just because it is cute… forgive me father, for i have sinned).

  1. chromakey
    September 27, 2007 at 1:54 am

    the 80 GB Classic is a good choice, mine just arrived yesterday and i’m really happy with it.

  2. ipod touch related
    November 19, 2007 at 9:01 pm

    great music site for the ipod touch: http://seeqpod.net/ipod touch you can also build a playlist on the main site http://www.seeqpod.net and it shows up on the ipod touch instantly

  3. December 1, 2007 at 5:21 pm

    Very cool!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

