Home > Online Apps > Filing Taxes Online

Filing Taxes Online

For the past two years, I’ve used Liberty Tax Service to file my taxes online. It was cheap and easy, though not completely robust. I decided to make a change, so this year, I had the “privilege” of trying two other sites to file my taxes.

I started with TurboTax Online and I would have gladly stuck with them except for a bug which gave me an incorrect calculation at an important part of the process. I was entering the amount of money we withdrew from our HSA for medical expenses, and TurboTax was taxing me for that even though it is tax exempt.

Others on the forums reported the same problem, and after waiting a month and starting over, the problem was not fixed. So I checked out MacWorld’s review of the most popular online tax preparation sites, and decided to give TaxAct.com a try.

I was not disappointed. I moved through the process relatively quickly, thanks to an intuitive interface. I filed a 1040 form for free and had no problems entering information about investments and a couple of special situations we had.

If you are looking for a affordable, error-free, easy-to-use interface for preparing your taxes online, I highly recommend TaxAct.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

